TOWN OF CLINTON CSC TASK FORCE MEETING MINUTES – June 25, 2024

The June 25, 2024 meeting of the Town of Clinton Climate Smart Task Force was called to order at 7:03 pm. Committee members and guests in attendance were as follows:

Eliot Werner, Deputy Town Supervisor & CSC Task Force Representative Joe Phelan, CSC Task Force Chair Jean McAvoy, CSC Task Force Member Melissa Karchmer, CSC Task Force Member Anna Harrod-McGrew, Cornell Cooperative Extension Judy Malstrom, community member

Introduction

Joe Phelan introduced the evening's meeting agenda and asked members if there were any questions or additions to the minutes of the previous meeting on May 28, 2024. With no questions, the minutes of the May 28, 2024 meeting were accepted by acclamation of the Task Force members in attendance.

Clean Energy Communities Grant Funding

As a follow-up to a presentation at the Task Force's May meeting by Elizabeth Sun, the Hudson Valley Regional Council's Clean Energy Communities Coordinator, the Task Force has been in communication with her in an effort to move forward with the process of qualifying for the existing grant opportunities available through Clean Energy Communities funding. Funding through this program could be generated through application by the CSC Task Force for one or more Clean Energy Communities related projects/purchases which the CSC Task Force has been discussing while engaging in initiatives to qualify the Town of Clinton for Bronze certification. This activity itself also could generate additional points toward the next level of certification.

Bronze Certification Review and Status Update

Much of the meeting's discussion again focused on the topic of the assessment of the Town's Bronze Application status, as conducted by Cornell Cooperative Extension's Anna Harrod-McGrew. Anna has been reviewing the documentation necessary for successful application submittal, and has reported to the Task Force that we are close to being able to submit our application, prior to the July 7, 2024 deadline for the current application round. It is anticipated, however, that the Task Force and the Town of Clinton will not receive notification of the results of this process until early Fall 2024.

Future Planning

Due to impending staffing changes at the Cornell Cooperative Extension, the Task Force's pursuit of a Riparian Buffer Planning/Planting project during 2024 will be delayed, possibly until next year.

Public Attendance at CSC Task Force Meetings

A member of the Town of Clinton community, Judy Malstrom, attended this month's and participated in the meeting discussion on the topic of establishing a composting program in the Town of Clinton as a response to Dutchess County's incinerator burning of residential waste. Feedback from the Task Force members during the discussion indicated an interest in learning more about the County's trash-burning incinerator work. However, while some interest was expressed in the establishment of a Town composting program, some concern was raised about the need in a rural community where homeowners interested in composting likely are already engaged in this activity on their own property.

Potential New Members for the Town of Clinton Climate Smart Communities Task Force

Given the resignation of Paul Ruud and Leslie Power earlier this year as members of the Clinton CSC Task Force, the current members have discussed recruiting new members for appointment by the Town Board. Eliot Werner has provided the Task Force with the names of four Clinton residents who have expressed potential interest in volunteer service related to the goals of the CSC Task Force. Joe Phelan will follow up with these individuals over the summer to determine their possible interest in their involvement with the service work with which the Task Force is engaged.

The next meeting of the Clinton Climate Smart Communities Task Force is scheduled for Tuesday, July 23, 2024 at 7:00 pm at the Clinton Masonic Lodge. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:54 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Joe Phelan, CSC Task Force Chair